STEMM (1998-2012, 2018-present): a Metalcore band from Niagara Falls, New York, USA.


he band that would become STEMM formed in 1998 by Joe Cafarella (lead vocals/guitar), brothers Louie (vocals) and Jimi Penque (drums), Russ Martin (bass) and Alex Scouten (guitar). Scouten left in 1999 to be briefly replaced by Fred Blackwell; Rich Spalla would replace Blackwell soon after, however. Their debut self-released recordings, Further Efforts EP (1999) and the full-length Dead to Me (2001), then followed.

In 2002, STEMM signed a licensing deal with the UFC for their music to be incorporated into UFC television and live events. Songs (to date) used by the UFC include, Out of Context, Holding On, Fallen and Face the Pain (which was used for the theme song and is featured on the UFC 2009 Undisputed soundtrack). The band also signed a licensing deal to feature their music on Canadian television station The Fight Network.

It was after Jimi Penque left for musical differences, with Louie following shortly later for family reasons, that the band membership came into flux. In 2003 Cafarella and Spalla reset the line-up to feature Danny Nelligan (drums), Stephen Crowl (bass) and TJ Frost (vocals; ex-5 Years Gone). The change would pre-empt a sonic modification as well, seeing the band drift more into a standard metal direction from the former 'Rapcore'.

See All... ⏬

The band first performed before a wide audience with Sevendust and at a 'Metal Blade Records' showcase show. They would follow this up with tours seeing them performing on stage with such other notable acts as Hatebreed, Chimaira, Staind, Godsmack, Soulfly, Trivium, Arch Enemy and Black Label Society. The most famous of these shows would be their performance at the last full show of Pantera and Damageplan guitarist 'Dimebag' Darrell (Pantera/Damageplan) in Buffalo, NY, the night before he was murdered on stage at the Alrosa Villa club in Columbus, Ohio.

Now looking for a label, the 5 (2004) demo would be the next recording.

August 2006 saw STEMM sign to 'I Scream Records' to re-release their second album Songs for the Incurable Heart (2005).

July 2007 would see Frost leave the band due to "personal issues" causing Cafarella to assume full-time vocal duties, while guitarist Alex Scouten (guitar; ex-3 Minutes of Hate) returned to fill in as a session member. Scouten had also previously worked with STEMM, when then vocalist Frost was injured in 2006. Now on 'Catch-22 Records', this line-up would release Blood Scent (2008). Thew band would tour heavily before the release of Crossroads (2011).

In 2012 STEMM announced their split with their last show in Buffalo, NY, USA and several former members in tow. This split would last until 2018 when a reformation was announced in the form of Joe Cafarella (lead vocals/guitar), Stephen Crowl (bass/backing vocals), Dan Nelligan (drums) and Alex Scouten (guitar).

See Less... ⏫

Button: View Discography

Movie director's cut board

Follow Diskery:

Click to Purchase via eBay
Click to Purchase via eBay

Dashboard for STEMM

Nation USA
Location Niagara Falls, New York
Genre Metalcore
Formations 2
Active Years 1998-2012, 2018-
Last Modified 2023-02-20
Diskery ID 1967

Artists Linked to STEMM

Black Label Society Godsmack Hatebreed
Pantera Sevendust Soulfly
Staind Trivium

Button: Go Backward 1 Biography
Button: Go Forward 1 Biography
Button: Random Artist
Button: Return to Search Page
Button: Go to website version for printers and reader devices
Button: Help with this page

Large screen TV
Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Click to Purchase via eBay
Click to Purchase via eBay

Follow Diskery:

Earth Search/Home
Music record Discography
Movie Director's cut board Audio/Video

Question mark Help
Exclamation mark Legal
Construction barrier Projects

Go to website version simple view (Good for reader devices) Accessibility/Printer

Collection of mobile electronics
Love Diskery on your big screen? Try us on your mobile device too!