Sinister (1988-2003, 2005-present): a Death Metal band from Schiedam, Netherlands.


utch band Sinister would debut on the split album Where Is Your God Now...? alongside Dead Head who was also on their debut, along with Gorefest and Acrostichon in 1990 under the membership of Aad Kloosterwaard (drums), Ron van de Polder (guitars), Mike van Mastrigt (vocals) and Corzas (bass), another, Sinister / Monastery with Monastery would follow the next year, followed by Sinister EP (1991) and the Promo EP I split in 1992 alongside Hypocrisy, Afflicted and Resurrection. Their debut album proper would follow in 1992 as Cross the Styx featuring André Tolhuisen assuming guitars. Bart van Wallenberg assumed bass for Diabolical Summoning (1993) and Hate (1995).

Michel Alderliefsten assumed bass for their next split album Where Dead Angels Lie / Bastard Saints (1996) along side Dissection. This line-up remained in form for Bastard Saints (1996).

See All... ⏬

The new members of note would be Eric de Windt and Alex Paul taking bass and vocals respectively for Aggressive Measures (1998). Rachel Heyzer for Creative Killings (2001). Pascal Grevinga took lead guitars for Savage or Grace (2003) while Paul Beltman took drums for Afterburner; the band now a 3-piece act.

For The Silent Howling (2008) the bass and drum roles were assumed by Bas van den Bogaardand Edwin van den Eeden respectively, however this line-up only lasted one album for Paul took bass, as well as his guitar duties, for Legacy of Ashes (2010).

The Carnage Ending (2012), The Post-Apocalyptic Servant (2014), the The Unborn Dead EP (2014) and Dark Memorials (2015) saw a completely new line-up in the form of Mathijs Brussaard (bass), Dennis Hartog (guitars), Toep Duin (drums/lyrics) and Bastiaan Brussaard (guitars/songwriting), leaving Adrie Kloosterwaard (vocals/lyrics) as the sole old-school member.

By the time Syncretism (2017) was released the bass role was in flux again with Ricardo Falcon assuming bass, as well as some guitar duties on tracks 5, 7 & 9. But the Gods of the Abyss EP (2017) saw the band as a 3-piece featuring Aad Kloosterwaard (vocals), Alex Paul (bass/guitars) and Paul Beltman (drums), an older line-up caused probably from a delayed album release, where-as Deformation of the Holy Realm (2020) saw yet another line-up shift Toep Duin (drums/lyrics), Ghislain van der Stel (bass/guitars/songwriting) and Michal Grall (guitars (lead)/songwriting). But soon after, the line-up would change again to feature Kloosterwaard with Walter Tjwa (guitars), Bram Willems (bass) and Simon Skrlec (drums).

See Less... ⏫

Button: View Discography

Movie director's cut board

Follow Diskery:

Click to Purchase via eBay
Click to Purchase via eBay

Dashboard for Sinister

Nation Netherlands
Location Schiedam
Genre Death Metal
Formations 2
Active Years 1988-2003, 2005-
Last Modified 2023-07-15
Diskery ID 2699

Artists Linked to Sinister

Dead Head Hypocrisy Monastery

Button: Go Backward 1 Biography
Button: Go Forward 1 Biography
Button: Random Artist
Button: Return to Search Page
Button: Go to website version for printers and reader devices
Button: Help with this page

Large screen TV
Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Click to Purchase via eBay
Click to Purchase via eBay

Follow Diskery:

Earth Search/Home
Music record Discography
Movie Director's cut board Audio/Video

Question mark Help
Exclamation mark Legal
Construction barrier Projects

Go to website version simple view (Good for reader devices) Accessibility/Printer

Collection of mobile electronics
Love Diskery on your big screen? Try us on your mobile device too!