Hypocrisy (1991-1997, 1998-present): a Death Metal band from Ludvika, Sweden.


ormed out of the remains of Conquest, Hypocrisy started with Peter Tagtgren (ex-Epitaph; vocals/guitar/keyboards) and Lars Szoke (drums). Soon after the founding, Tagtgren returned to Sweden to lay down tracks for their debut Penetrallia (1992) with Jonas Osterberg (ex-Epitaph; guitar) and Magnus "Masse" Broberg (ex-Votary; vocals). Touring with Brutality and replacing Broberg and Jonas with Mikael Hedlund on bass (Broberg would leave to join Dark Funeral) they would launch their sophomore effort Osculum Obscenum (1993), while the mini Inferior Devotees (1994) saw the band as a three-piece of only Peter Tägtgren guitar/vocals (ex-Lock Up/ex-Pain/ex-Abyss (Sweden); guitar/vocals), Mikael Hedlund (ex-Abyss (Sweden); bass) and Lars Szöke (ex-Abyss (Sweden); drums) and featured a cover of Slayer's Black Magic, along with a skull crushing senses blasting follow-up titled The Fourth Dimension (1994). It was their third set that saw a complete album again in the form of Abducted (1996) and it's remix follow-up Maximum Abduction (1996) seeing the members try their hands at each other's instruments and featuring a cover of Kiss' Strange Ways.

See All... ⏬

Hypocrisy was put on the back burner for a while when Tagtgren and buddy It(of Abruptum) collaborated on two side project albums titled Total War (1998) and We Are War (1999) under the name War.

When Hypocrisy recorded again it was thought to be their last but the album of abductions by little green men titled The Final Chapter (1997) proved to be their strongest set in the eyes of the consumer so they stuck around to complete the live effort Hypocrisy Destroys Wacken 1998 (live), Hypocrisy (1999) and Into The Abyss (2000). Their 10 Years Of Chaos And Confusion "best of..." compilation in 2001 was followed up recently with Catch-22 (2002) and The Arrival (2004).

In 2004, drummer Lars Szöke left the band, citing a disinterest in touring. His replacement is former Immortal (Norway) drummer Horgh (Real Name: Reidar Horghagen). In addition, new guitarist Andreas Holma then joined the band, making the group a quartet for the first time in many years for Virus (2005).

The group would return to a three-piece with Tägtgren and Hedlund with new member Lars Szöke (drums) for Catch 22 V2.0.08 (2008), A Taste of Extreme Divinity (2009) and End of Disclosure (2013) after a box sex, and the Beast of Hypocrisy (2012) compilation. Late 2013 would see the release of Too Drunk to Fuck EP, followed by Worship (2021).

See Less... ⏫

Button: View Discography

Movie director's cut board

Follow Diskery:

Click to Purchase via eBay
Click to Purchase via eBay

Dashboard for Hypocrisy

Nation Sweden
Location Ludvika
Genre Death Metal
Formations 2
Active Years 1991-1997, 1998-
Last Modified 2023-10-29
Diskery ID 589

Artists Linked to Hypocrisy

Abyss Dark Funeral Immortal
Kiss Slayer

Button: Go Backward 1 Biography
Button: Go Forward 1 Biography
Button: Random Artist
Button: Return to Search Page
Button: Go to website version for printers and reader devices
Button: Help with this page

Large screen TV
Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Click to Purchase via eBay
Click to Purchase via eBay

Follow Diskery:

Earth Search/Home
Music record Discography
Movie Director's cut board Audio/Video

Question mark Help
Exclamation mark Legal
Construction barrier Projects

Go to website version simple view (Good for reader devices) Accessibility/Printer

Collection of mobile electronics
Love Diskery on your big screen? Try us on your mobile device too!