Rage (1984-present): a Thrash Metal band from Germany.


riginally named Avenger under the line-up of Peter "Peavey" Wagner (vocals/bass) Jochen Schroeder (guitar), Alf Meyerratken(a.k.a. The Reaper; guitar) and Jorg Michael (drums) and releasing Prayer Of Steel (1985) and Depraved To Black EP (1986; with Thomas Gruning replacing "The Reaper") they changed their name to Rage due to conflict with the UK band having the same name; little did they know that another UK act had only recently made their new name vacant.

Rage re-opened shop to assume a speed metal attack with their debut Reign Of Fear (1986), followed quickly with Execution Guaranteed (1987) featuring Rudy Graf replacing Gruning.The albums, however,were slapped by critics as having expressed little imagination. But by the time the third effort, Perfect Man, was released in 1988, Wagner was the only remaining member, forcing him to recruit Manni Schmidt (guitar) and Chris Efthimiadis on drums. This release was finally getting the act some acclaim by featuring much more intricate playing and better lyrics, but the subsequent releases of Secrets In A Weird World (1989), Invisible Horizons EP (1989), Reflections Of A Shadow (1990), Trapped (1992), The Missing Link (1993), and their 10 year anniversary "best of..." Ten Years In Rage (1994) failed to get them notice outside of their more tolerant homeland. Now leaving the 'Noise' label in favor of 'Gun', Black In Mind (1995) featured the first line-up change in many years, withSpiros Ephthimiades and Sven Fischer taking over both guitar positions. The follow-up, End Of All Days (1996) followed lock step in line with the rest, as did Live From The Vault (1997).

See All... ⏬

The final album might have been the last except for a renaming of sorts to continue the bloodline as Rage & Lingua Mortis Orchestra with the addition of Victor Smolski on guitarsto release XIII (1998). But a change of label was planned, for a series of "best of..." compilations followed, titled The Best From The Noise Years (1998), an acoustic attempt with In Vain "Rage In Acoustic" (1998), before returning to the studio for Ghosts (1999) and Welcome To The Other Side (2001).

Another "best of..." Best Of - All G.U.N. Years would follow in 2001 with a further studio effort, Unity (2002) appearing on the 'Steamhammer' label featuring only Peter "Peavey" Wagner Victor Smolski and drummer Mike Terrana (ex-Yngwie Malmsteen/ex-Artension/ex-Metalium/ex-Axel Rudi Pell).

See Less... ⏫

Button: View Discography

Artist Dashboard:

Nation Germany
City Unknown
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Thrash Metal
Reformations 1
Web Unknown
Active Years 1984-
E-Mail Unknown
Last Modified 2020-06-03
RRCA File Code UC000451
Diskery ID 900

Artists Linked With This Article:

Deep Purple Dio Judas Priest
Ozzy Osbourne Saxon Touch
Yngwie J. Malmsteen

Button: Go Backward 1 Biography
Button: Go Forward 1 Biography
Button: Random Artist
Button: Return to Search Page
Button: Print Page
Button: Help with this page

Notice: Diskery is available for large screens too!
Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

20year Celebration Logo

20year Celebration Logo

Artist Picture not available


Purchase via eBayPurchase via eBay
 Find Audio/Video

 Get Help
 Legal Notices
 Special Projects

Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Love Diskery on your big screen? Try us on your mobile device too.