HelpNavigation for mobiles - pull down menu



(AISE: Redirected from Black Death)

Darkthrone (1987-present): a Black Metal band from Kolbotn, Norway.


card-carrying member in the infamous 'Inner Circle' of early Norwegian black metal bands, Darkthrone has remained true to the spirit of that style. Originally known as Black Death, the band originally played basic Scandinavian style death metal, releasing one album in that field titled, Soulside Journey in 1990 after several demo attempts in 1988 & 89 under the titles of Land Of Frost (1988), A New Dimension (1988), Snowfall (1988), Thulcandra (1989) and Cromlech (1989) under the membership of Nocturno Culto (Real Name: Ted Skjellum; ex-Styricon; vocals), Zephyrous (Real Name: Ivar Enger; guitar), Dag Nilsen (bass), Anders Risberget (guitar) and Fenriz (Real Name: Gylve Nagell; ex-Valhall/ex-Dødheimsgard) before deciding that the then-new wave of black metal was more exciting, so they abruptly changed their style and image (adopting the corpse paint look synonymous with the scene) and with A Blaze in the Northern Sky (1991) they showed the world the result. Not only was their appearance, but also music became raw, primitive and evil. Now without Nilsen and Risberget, 1992 would see them return with Under a Funeral Moon. Shedding yet another member, Zephyrous would leave before the recording of Transylvanian Hunger (1993), which was followed by Panzerfaust (1994), Total Death (1996), Goatlord (1996), Ravishing Grimness (1999), Preparing For War compilation (2000), Plaguewielder (2001; also featuring guest members Sverre Dæhli (vocals) and Ole Jørgen Moe (a.k.a. Apollyon; vocals)), Hate Them (2003; featuring guest Lars Sørensen (a.k.a. Lrz; samples)) and Sardonic Wrath (2004) all on 'Peaceville Records'.

Read All... ⏬

The Cult is Alive (2006), F.O.A.D. (2007), Frostland Tapes compilation (2008), Dark Thrones and Black Flags (2008), Circle the Wagons (2010), The Underground Resistance (2013), Black Death and Beyond compilation (2014), Arctic Thunder (2016) and The Wind of 666 Black Hearts compilation (2016), Old Star (2019), Eternal Hails...... (2021) and Astral Fortress (2022) would follow, along with a box set and compilation.

Footnote: The band's name was inspired by a Danish magazine from around 1985/86 called Blackthorn, written by the guys from the Danish band DesExult, as well as by the lyrics of the Celtic Frost song Jewel Throne.
Footnote: Some trivia. In 2001 (just prior to Plaguewielder) they said "no" to a 3-page cover story interview in Kerrang! And then turned down a $30,000 offer to playing live a weekend in England, not to mention receiving a request to have their music featured in an S & M movie. One project tenures were graced with Sigurd Wongraven (a.k.a. Satyr; vocals; in 1996 & 1999), and Robin Olsen (guitar) and Kenneth Sorkness (vocals) during their Black Death days.

Read Less... ⏫

Button: View Discography

Movie director's cut board
Follow Diskery:

Click to Purchase via eBay
Click to Purchase via eBay
Click to visit our gift shop for t-shirts, jackets, mogs, yoga mats and more!

Dashboard for Darkthrone

Button: Go Backward 1 Biography
Button: Go Forward 1 Biography
Button: Get Random Artist
Button: Return to home page
Button: Go to website version for printers and reader devices
Button: Help with this page

Click to visit our gift shop for t-shirts, jackets, mogs, yoga mats and more!

   Large screen TV
Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!
Scan Me to share this page!