My Dying Bride


My Dying Bride (1990-present): a Doom Metal band from Bradford, West Yorkshire, UK.


his punk Doom laden act was founded by Aaron Stainthorpe (vocals), Andy Craighan (guitar), Calvin Robertshaw (guitar), Ade Jackson (bass) and Rick Miah (drums). After signing to the French label 'Listenable' for a one-off single they then switched to 'Peaceville' in 1991. Featuring artwork by cult artist Dave McKean, their debut album As the Flower Withers followed in 1992, published only in Europe. The album was more than just basic death metal but featured more experimentation into melody. With the addition of classically trained Martin Powell for keyboards and violin the subsequent follow-up Turn Loose the Swans (1993) drifted farther towards the melodic orchestration. Trinity (1994), The Angel and the Dark River (1995) and Like Gods of the Sun (1996) followed.

By the end of the 1990s their sound had evolved into gothic doom laden sets being released on both sides of "the pond" like 34.788% Complete (1998; with Bill Law replacing Rick Miah) and A Light At The End Of The World (1999) to growing popularity. The former disc featuring the presence of Shaun Steels (ex-Anthema/ex-Solstice) in place of Law. Meisterwerk I & II (2000 & 2001) were "best of..." compilations that were followed with their next studio effort The Dreadful Hours (2001) that saw Robertshaw gone in favor of Hamish Glencross, not to mention Yasmin Ahmid replacing Powell, a line-up that would remain stable for their live effort The Voice of the Wretched (2002) but not so for Songs of Darkness, Words of Light (2004) where Sarah Stanton replaced Ahmid.

Read All... ⏬

The Deeper Down EP and A Line of Deathless Kings followed in 2006 before Shaun Taylor-Steels announced his departure due to medical issues of his ankle. In early 2007, Jackson then announced his departure. If that wasn't enough session-drummer John Bennett (of The Prophecy) also could no longer stay, citing a lack of time due to work commitments; the replacements were found in Lena Abé on bass and Dan Mullins on drums.

For Lies I Sire (2009) saw Sarah Stanton replaced by Katie Stone due to pregnancy; soon after the album's release, she was permanently replaced by Shaun MacGowan. Bring Me Victory EP & DVD followed in 2009 featuring a doom metal cover of Scarborough Fair. Their 20th anniversary compilation Evinta (2011) followed.

A Map of All Our Failures (2012) was the next album with the EP The Manuscript (2013) following featuring 4 left-over tracks from the 2012 album.

June 2014 saw Hamish Glencross fired and replaced with original guitarist Calvin Robertshaw.

Feel the Misery was released in 2015 but came just short of a traditional full featured album with only 8 tracks.

In 2017 they switched to 'Nuclear Blast Records'.

Two compilations followed before the release of The Ghost of Orion (2020) and Macabre Cabaret EP (2020) featuring Jeff Singer taking drums.

Read Less... ⏫

Button: View Discography

My Dying Bride
Movie director's cut board

Follow Diskery:

Click to Purchase via eBay
Click to Purchase via eBay

Dashboard for My Dying Bride

Artists Linked to My Dying Bride

Button: Go Backward 1 Biography
Button: Go Forward 1 Biography
Button: Random Artist
Button: Return to Search Page
Button: Go to website version for printers and reader devices
Button: Help with this page

Large screen TV
Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Scan Me to share this page!