HelpNavigation for mobiles - pull down menu



Massacre (1985-1987, 1989-1992, 1993-1996, 2006-2008, 2011-2014, 2019-present): a Death Metal band from Tampa, Florida, USA.


ounded by guitarist Allen West (soon after leaving for Obituary) and drummer Bill Andrews, followed by the arrival of soon-to-be-leader Death member Kam Lee (vocals) and fellow Death member Rick Rozz (guitar) in 1986. They would soon after recruit Terry Butler (bass) and Bill Andrews (drums) to work on demo material before calling it quits with everyone but Lee to work with Death on the 1988 Leprosy album.

Lee would reform the act in 1989 with Rozz and drummer Joe Cangelosi (of Whiplash). An album was recorded by the name of Second Coming but was never released. With such a pedigree behind them it was only a matter of time before they were discovered and soon enough 'Earache' came calling and upon the return of Butler and Andrews to restart the band to its original membership, their debut album From Beyond was released in 1991 containing mostly material from their demo days. The 1992 follow-up EP, Inhuman Conditions, including a cover of Venom's Warhead even going so far as to feature the aforementioned act's Cronos as guest vocalist. After Pete Sison and Syrus Peters replaced Butler and Andrews respectively they would finally release another effort in 1996 titled Promise; the album was not received well and the act folded soon after.

Read All... ⏬

Gone but not forgotten. In 2006 the band would reform only to collapse again in 2008. Likewise from 2011 to 2014, but this reformation managed to yield two recordings in the form of Condemned to the Shadows EP (2012) and Back from Beyond (2014) under the membership of Rick Rozz (guitars), Terry Butler (bass), Mike Mazzonetto (drums) and Edwin Webb (vocals).

The reforming didn't end there for in 2017 they returned under the name Massacre X only to quickly change that name to Gods of Death before changing back to Massacre.

After the live album Europe and Beyond "Live in Germany 1991" (2020), Resurgence (2021) the line-up of Jonny Pettersson (guitars/keyboards/vocals (backing; track 4, 8)/songwriting (track 2, 3, 5, 9, 10)), Mike Borders (bass), Kam Lee (vocals/lyrics), Brynjar Helgetun (drums), Scott Fairfax (guitars (lead)) and Rogga Johansson (guitars/songwriting (track 1, 4, 6, 7, 8)) would foolow before the compilation of Shadows Out of Innsmouth and the three EPs Mythos, Casket Mutilations and Headless Halloween all in 2022; the latter two sans Rogga Johansson and Scott Fairfax. The compilation Corpus Umbra followed in 2023.

Footnote: Not related to the Bill Laswell act also called Massacre.

Read Less... ⏫

Button: View Discography

Movie director's cut board

Follow Diskery:

Click to Purchase via eBay
Click to Purchase via eBay

Dashboard for Massacre

Artists Linked to Massacre

Button: Go Backward 1 Biography
Button: Go Forward 1 Biography
Button: Random Artist
Button: Return to Search Page
Button: Go to website version for printers and reader devices
Button: Help with this page

Large screen TV
Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Scan Me to share this page!