Holocaust (1977-1983, 1984, 1988-present): a NWOBHM band from Edinburgh, Scotland, UK.


cottish act Holocaust was founded by Gary Lettice (vocals), John Mortimer (guitar), Ed Dudley (guitar), Robin Begg (bass) and Paul Collins (drums). Inspired by the NWOBHM movement of the time, as well as the likes of Black Sabbath, Judas Priest, Motorhead, AC/DC, U.F.O., Led Zeppelin, Rush and Budgie, Holocaust released a set of singles in 1980 on the obscure 'Phoenix' label. When Nicky Arkless replaced Collins, the group released the Garage Days Revisited EP (1981; later an influence for Metallica's The $5.98 E.P.: Garage Days Re-Revisited EP which included a cover of Holocaust's The Small Hours), a debut album followed that same year titled The Nightcombers. Dudley left shortly after to form his own more melodic act Hologram to release one album, Steal The Stars, in 1982 before returning to the reformed act in 1983.

See All... ⏬

After their reformation, now with Raymond Marciano on drums, Holocaust released the Comin' Through EP in 1982, Live (Hot Curry And Wine) in 1983 (with Nicky Arkless now on drums) and No Man's Land in 1984 (with just Mortimer and Steve Cowen tagging along on drums) to similar apathy. They were once a rising star in the NWOBHM arena but once again split.

When The Sound Of Souls was released in 1989 Mortimer was making a bold attempt at another reformation with Graham Hall (bass) and Steve Cowen returning on drums but they split again not to reform until 1990 after Metallica's (specifically Lars Ulrich's) fascination in the style popularized their music again briefly. They trudged on under the membership of Mortimer and Cowan along side David Rosie (bass) to release Hypnosis of Birds (1993), Spirits Fly (1996) and Covinant (1997). When Hellfire Holocaust EP (2000) and The Courage to Be (2000; their first release for the US market) came about the membership had once again shifted to see Iain McKenzieon guitar while Steve Cowan was joined by brother Graham Cowen on bass. Smokin' Valves: The Anthology (2003) was just that a "best of..." anthology of their life that was followed by their next studio effort Primal later that same year now under the revised line-up of John Mortimer (vocals/guitar), John McCullim (guitar), Bryan Bartley (bass) and Ron Levine (drums); Primal proved to be a less adventurous and progressive in nature while nonetheless refusing to yield their classic sounds.

The albums Predator (2015) and Elder Gods (2019) would follow.

See Less... ⏫

Button: View Discography

Artist Image not available
Movie director's cut board

Follow Diskery:

Click to Purchase via eBay
Click to Purchase via eBay

Dashboard for Holocaust

Nation UK
Location Edinburgh, Scotland
Formations 3
Active Years 1977-1983, 1984, 1988-
Last Modified 2023-10-29
Diskery ID 587

Artists Linked to Holocaust

AC/DC Black Sabbath Budgie
Judas Priest Led Zeppelin Metallica
Motorhead Rush U.F.O.

Button: Go Backward 1 Biography
Button: Go Forward 1 Biography
Button: Random Artist
Button: Return to Search Page
Button: Go to website version for printers and reader devices
Button: Help with this page

Large screen TV
Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Click to Purchase via eBay

Follow Diskery:

Earth Search/Home
Music record Discography
Movie Director's cut board Audio/Video

Question mark Help
Exclamation mark Legal
Construction barrier Projects

Go to website version simple view (Good for reader devices) Accessibility/Printer

Collection of mobile electronics
Love Diskery on your big screen? Try us on your mobile device too!