Arcturus (1989-2007, 2011-present): a Black Metal band from Oslo, Norway.


t started as a side-project for Norwegian black metallers Sverd (Real Name: Steinar Sverd Johnsen; ex-Mayhem/of The Kovenant; keyboards) and Hellhammer (Real Name: Jan Axel Von Blomberg; ex-Mayhem/ex-Kovenant/ex-Thorns/ex-Winds; drums) who released several small pieces under the moniker Arcturus before forming a band proper with Garm (Real Name: Christofer Rygg; of Ulver; vocals), Dag F. Gravem (bass) and Samoth (of Emperor; guitar) joining.

This line-up lasted long enough to release only one EP titled Constellation (1994) before Samoth was forced to leave for his new home in prison (see Emperor for details) and was subsequently replaced with August (Real Name: Carl August Tidemann; ex-Winds/of Tritonus). Skoll (Real Name: Hugh Steven James Mingay; of Ved Buens Ende; bass) was soon added to the line-up, a line-up that would finally release their debut album Aspera Hiems Symfonia (1996) on the 'Century Media' label. The album had critics going gaga over it, being a complete effort, something few side-projects were afforded. The album was a complex set in both lyrics and music that was followed up with the sophomore La Masquerade Infernale (1997), an album that incorporated elements not normally seen in black metal, coming across as far more innovative than its contemporaries at the time. Incorporating elements of high classical music and folksy-pagan elements it received massive acclaim and extended the boundaries of black metal.

See All... ⏬

The follow-up third set, Disguised Masters (1999), featured replacement Knut (Real Name: Knut M. Valle) on guitar replacing August). The album this time incorporated elements of hip hop and techno music mixed with both new tracks and remixes of the previous albums. Once again Arcturus were trying to push the boundaries of the definition of the genre, but this time it met with only modest acceptance. In a surprise hit to the heavy metal news Øyvind Hægeland of progressive metal act Spiral Architectsuddenly replaced Garm who had left to work on his own record company and other band projects after the release of Sham Mirrors (2002).

The band would quietly regroup in 2011 to release Arcturian (2015) under the membership of Hellhammer (drums), Sverd (guitars/keyboards), Skoll (Real Name: Hugh Stephen James Mingay; bass), Knut Magne Valle (guitars), ICS Vortex (Simen Hestnæs; vocals).

See Less... ⏫

Button: View Discography

Arcturus Artist Picture



Purchase via eBayPurchase via eBay

Artist Dashboard:

Nation Norway
City Oslo
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Black Metal
Reformations 2
Web Unknown
Active Years 1989-2007, 2011-
E-Mail Unknown
Last Modified 2021-05-02
RRCA File Code REV00409
Diskery ID 410

Artists Linked With This Article:

Emperor Mayhem The Kovenant
Thorns Ulver Ved Buens Ende

Button: Go Backward 1 Biography
Button: Go Forward 1 Biography
Button: Random Artist
Button: Return to Search Page
Button: Print Page
Button: Help with this page

Notice: Diskery is available for large screens too!
Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Diskery Uncle Sam Logo

Diskery Uncle Sam Logo

Arcturus Artist Picture



Purchase via eBayPurchase via eBay
 Find Audio/Video

 Get Help
 Legal Notices
 Special Projects

Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Love Diskery on your big screen? Try us on your mobile device too.