Bulletboys (1987-1993, 1995, 1998-present): a Glam Metal band from Los Angeles, California, USA.


lam metal band Bulletboys formed in 1986 in Los Angeles, California. The original group consisted of ex-King Kobra members Marq Torien (also ex-Ratt; vocals), Mick Sweda (guitar), Lonnie Vincent (bass) and Jimmy D'Anda (drums). Strongly influenced by AC/DC and Van Halen, their debut self-titled album would emerge on 'Warner Brothers' in 1988 to receive a 34 on the Billboard 200; Torien would draw comparisons to Van Halen singer David Lee Roth.

The group would follow their successful debut with two singles, a cover of the classic O'Jays track, For the Love of Money (peaking at 30 on the Mainstream rock Chart, and 78 on the Billboard Hot 100), and Smooth up in Ya (peaking at 23 on the Mainstream rock Chart, and 71 on the Billboard Hot 100), with both receiving airplay on MTV.

The follow-up album, Freakshow (1991) did well over all but not as well as its predecessor by receiving only a 69 on the Billboard 200.

Spoofing the name of the character Joey Zasa in the movie The Godfather Part III, their third album Za-Za (1993) failed to chart. Both Sweda and D'Anda left the group soon after; Tony Marcus and Robby Karras would replace them respectively. This change would not last long, however, for after the release of Acid Monkey (1995) the band would fold soon after.

See All... ⏬

In 1998, the group reformed, featuring Torien and Vencent adding ex- Guns N' Roses Steven Adler (drums) and future Guns N' Roses guitarist DJ Ashba briefly, with a tour of the US planned. In 1999, Ashba left to form Beautiful Creatures with Bang Tango singer Joe Lesté while Adler also left soon after, going on to form Adler's Appetite in 2003. The compilation Burning Cats and Amputees (2000) would arrive via 'Deadline Records'. The remaining members Torien and Vincent, would soldier on to release the group's fifth album, Sophie (2003) featuring a guest appearance by former Skid Row (USA) singer Sebastian Bach. Canadian Jason Hook (guitar) was briefly a member of Bulletboys during this time also for Behind the Orange Curtain (2007).

Several membership changes would slow down the release of 10¢ Billionaire (2009), which had originally be recorded back in 2006. In October of 2009, original bassist Lonnie Vincent returned to the group while guitarist Tony Marcus was also added.

On August 28, 2011, former drummer Johnny Giosa died in a car accident in Los Angeles at the age of 42; he had briefly been with the band the year previous.

Rocked and Ripped (2011) and Elefanté (2015) would follow. By the time From Out of the Skies (2018) arrived, the membership would feature Marq Torien (vocals/guitar/bass/congas), Nick Rozz (guitar), Chad MacDonald (bass/backing vocals), Anthony "Tiny" Biuso (drums).

See Less... ⏫

Button: View Discography

Bulletboys Artist Picture



Purchase via eBayPurchase via eBay

Artist Dashboard:

Nation USA
City Los Angeles, California
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Glam Metal
Reformations 3
Web Unknown
Active Years 1987-1993, 1995, 1998-
E-Mail Unknown
Last Modified 2021-01-17
RRCA File Code N/A
Diskery ID 1894

Artists Linked With This Article:

AC/DC Guns N' Roses King Kobra
Ratt Skid Row Van Halen

Button: Go Backward 1 Biography
Button: Go Forward 1 Biography
Button: Random Artist
Button: Return to Search Page
Button: Print Page
Button: Help with this page

Notice: Diskery is available for large screens too!
Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Diskery Uncle Sam Logo

Diskery Uncle Sam Logo

Bulletboys Artist Picture



Purchase via eBayPurchase via eBay
 Find Audio/Video

 Get Help
 Legal Notices
 Special Projects

Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Love Diskery on your big screen? Try us on your mobile device too.