SELECT * FROM Band WHERE BandName="Ivory Tower" AND City = "" AND NationName = ""

Ivory Tower

(AISE: Redirected from AX'N SEX)

Ivory Tower (1996-present): a Progressive Metal band from Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany.


he history of Ivory Tower begins in 1996 when Andre Fischer (vocals), Sven Böge (guitar) and Thorsten Thrunke (drums), along with two other musicians founded the combo under the name AX´N SEX and soon advanced to be one of the bright new metal hopes in and around northern Germany. Their self produced CD Victim of Time featured four original works and received a positive local reception, not only in Germany, but also in Europe and overseas. The band name, however, did not entirely suit their melodic power metal and conjured up visions of sleaze metal. The musicians were quick to react and after some deliberation they changed the name of the band to the more suitable and current Ivory Tower.

The band then polished their styles further, and made some changes in the line-up. After having been with the band since it's formation, two of the members left the ranks, to be replaced by Stephan Laschetzki (bass) and Stephan Machon (keyboards). Initial discussions between the band and 'Limb Music Products' and 'Publishing (LMP)' were held in December 1997; 'LMP' subsequently offering the band a contract.

Their second album, Beyond The Stars, was released 17th of April 2000. It was an album that contained everything from classical and orchestral arrangements to hard riding guitar riffs and melodic refrains. During that time there were also extensive promotional activities all over the world but especially in Paris for the French release under the license label 'NTS'.

See All... ⏬

In 2001 new band members would arrive in the form of Stefan Ikert (bass), Heiner Risthaus (keyboards) and Florian Tabbert (drums). Machon, Laschetzki and Thrunke left the band due to personal reasons. Extensive promotional activities in Sao Paulo, Brasil would commence with the license label 'Rock Brigade'; the band would leave the contract with 'LMP' in 2002.

Björn Bombach would assume bass for It (2006) and Heiner Risthaus would be out for IV (2011).

See Less... ⏫

Button: View Discography

Artist Dashboard:

Nation Germany
City Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Progressive Metal
Reformations 1
Web Unknown
Active Years 1996-
E-Mail Unknown
Last Modified 2020-09-17
RRCA File Code UC000999
Diskery ID 1440

Button: Go Backward 1 Biography
Button: Go Forward 1 Biography
Button: Random Artist
Button: Return to Search Page
Button: Print Page
Button: Help with this page

Notice: Diskery is available for large screens too!
Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

20year Celebration Logo

20year Celebration Logo

Artist Picture not available


Purchase via eBayPurchase via eBay
 Find Audio/Video

 Get Help
 Legal Notices
 Special Projects

Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Love Diskery on your big screen? Try us on your mobile device too.