(AISE: Redirected from Gates of Creation)

Nefeleim (1993-1997, 2000-present): a Power Metal band from Moscow, Russia.


oscow metal band Nefelim (originally named Nifelheim but changed due to the other band using the name) was formed in 1993 by the two young guitar players Dmitry Fokin and Alexey Montov. The music style of the band for that period could be characterized as melodic heavy speed metal. Playing live frequently mostly in Moscow they would eventually knock out a short awfully recorded demo tape with Dmitry Fokin (guitars), Alexey Montov (guitars), Alexander Rastorguev (drums), Andrey Bartkevich (vocals), Dmitriy Konoplyov (bass) and Anna Fokina (vocals; of Fokina) titled Voin Gor in 1995. In the beginning of 1996 the crew was disbanded because of musical disagreements. Alexey Montov became a member of another well-known Moscow band Shadow Host. Other musicians also continued their careers in different Moscow bands such as Transylvania, Scrambled Defunct and Catharsis.

Shortly after, however, Dmitry Fokin and the band drummer Alexander Rastorguev formed a new crew. Being the leader, Dmitry decided to invite a keyboard player instead of a second guitarist and soon they started rehearsing the new material. Adding the keyboards changed the music style and the band was renamed to Gates Of Creation and released Zerkala (Mirrors) (1997) with Dmitry Fokin (guitar/keyboards/vocals), Konstantin Biryukov (bass), Alexander Rastorguev (drums), Anna Fokina (vocals) and Julia "Alice" Chernova (keyboards)

See All... ⏬

In 1998, keyboard player D.J.Avad joined the crew and the band found its own style standing for powerful speedy riffs and melodic keyboards. Unfortunately at that time there was no vocalist, who could fit the band and D.J.Avad took on the role, at least until a free suitable singer was found. During the recording session of the new album the band changed its name to Nefelim. The album was entitled as Vrata Mirozdaniya (The Gates Of Creation) and its release was entirely sponsored by the band itself with the membership of Dmitry Fokin (guitars), D.J.Avad (keyboards/vocals), Konstantin Biryukov (bass) and Alexander Rastorguev (drums). But after the recording they would loose the drummer for Semyon Levin. The band is currently looking for a record deal. In 2007, Alexander Shvets assumed the bass, who previously held the role 2003-5. Although Andrey Bartkevich held the vocals role, Avad would now assume it along with his keyboard duties.

See Less... ⏫

Button: View Discography

Artist Dashboard:

Nation Russia
City Moscow
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Power Metal
Reformations 2
Web Unknown
Active Years 1993-1997, 2000-
E-Mail Unknown
Last Modified 2021-05-02
RRCA File Code UC000734
Diskery ID 1180

Artists Linked With This Article:


Button: Go Backward 1 Biography
Button: Go Forward 1 Biography
Button: Random Artist
Button: Return to Search Page
Button: Print Page
Button: Help with this page

Notice: Diskery is available for large screens too!
Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Diskery Uncle Sam Logo

Diskery Uncle Sam Logo

Artist Picture not available


Purchase via eBayPurchase via eBay
 Find Audio/Video

 Get Help
 Legal Notices
 Special Projects

Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Love Diskery on your big screen? Try us on your mobile device too.