Ivory Tower


Ivory Tower (1996-present): a Progressive Metal band from Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany.


he history of Ivory Tower begins in 1996 when Andre Fischer (vocals), Sven Böge (guitar) and Thorsten Thrunke (drums), along with two other musicians founded the combo under the name AX´N SEX and soon advanced to be one of the bright new metal hopes in and around northern Germany. Their self produced CD Victim of Time featured four original works and received a positive local reception, not only in Germany, but also in Europe and overseas. The band name, however, did not entirely suit their melodic power metal and conjured up visions of sleaze metal. The musicians were quick to react and after some deliberation they changed the name of the band to the more suitable and current Ivory Tower.

The band then polished their styles further, and made some changes in the line-up. After having been with the band since it's formation, two of the members left the ranks, to be replaced by Stephan Laschetzki (bass) and Stephan Machon (keyboards). Initial discussions between the band and 'Limb Music Products' and 'Publishing (LMP)' were held in December 1997; 'LMP' subsequently offering the band a contract.

Their second album, Beyond The Stars, was released 17th of April 2000. It was an album that contained everything from classical and orchestral arrangements to hard riding guitar riffs and melodic refrains. During that time there were also extensive promotional activities all over the world but especially in Paris for the French release under the license label 'NTS'.

Read All... ⏬

In 2001 new band members would arrive in the form of Stefan Ikert (bass), Heiner Risthaus (keyboards) and Florian Tabbert (drums). Machon, Laschetzki and Thrunke left the band due to personal reasons. Extensive promotional activities in Sao Paulo, Brasil would commence with the license label 'Rock Brigade'; the band would leave the contract with 'LMP' in 2002.

Björn Bombach would assume bass for IT (2006) and Heiner Risthaus would be out for IV (2011).

Dirk Meyer took vocals and Frank Fasold assumed keyboards for Stronger (2019).

Read Less... ⏫

Button: View Discography

Ivory Tower
Movie director's cut board

Follow Diskery:

Click to Purchase via eBay
Click to Purchase via eBay

Dashboard for Ivory Tower

Button: Go Backward 1 Biography
Button: Go Forward 1 Biography
Button: Random Artist
Button: Return to Search Page
Button: Go to website version for printers and reader devices
Button: Help with this page

Large screen TV
Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Scan Me to share this page!