Rotting Corpse

Rotting Corpse (1985-1989) is a Thrash Metal band from USA.


otting Corpse formed in July 1985 featuring founding members Walt Traschsler (guitar/vocals) and John Perez (guitar). Soon after, Jim Mulqueen (vocals) joined the team. Rotting Corpse has featured several drummers in its history including Dave Gryler and Randy Cook, with Louie Carrisalez (ex-Helldogs) as the latest. The bass position had been no less frustrating and after several attempts at finding a competent bassist, Steve Murphy (ex-Eldritch Rite) joined in 1987.

In the spring of 1986, Rotting Corpse announced themselves by recording a 3-track demo including the tracks Rotting Corpse, War On Drugs, and Evil Slaughter. The tape sold well in a time when Thrash was just starting to come onto its own and at a time when it was non-existent in their hometown; their name chosen to catch people's attention.

In the summer of 1987, John Perez and Jim 'Moe' Mulqueen left the band, with Randy Cook (drums) also leaving temporarily. Soon after, their next demo Fuck It - It's Only Thrash (1987) arrived, the songs recorded on it were Those without conscience, Evolvement, The Price of God, and When it Rains, it Pours. Roger from San Antonio's Hellpreacher joined as the second guitarist, with Louie Carrisalez stepping in to play drums. Traschsler then also took over vocals. With this line-up, they played the infamous Dark Angel shows in Austin, San Antonio and Corpus Christi. After the shows, Mark Salis took over bass for a time while Carrisalez and current guitarist Roger decided to leave as well later that year. It wasn't long, however, before Randy Cook returned as drummer, while Luke Brewer joined as guitarist. In 1988 Steve Murphy returned as well on bass, but remained dedicated to his other project (started since his leaving), Process Revealed, over the next two years during the Rotting Corpse's downtime.

See All... ⏬

After an extended period of downtime, Murphy and Traschsler got former drummer Dave Gryder back, and the band was an original unit again for their third demo, Third Demo  (1988). Scott Shelby of Gammacide played the lead guitar riffs on these tapes. But after several more shows it became clear that Rotting Corpse wasn't going anywhere and after their Valentine's Day 1989 show the act split, the posthumous CD/Demo Neck Breaking Fury arriving the next year featuring the efforts of their final recording sessions with three new songs: Neck Breaking Fury, Payment In Blood, and Progressing Insanity, and two songs from the first demo: Evil Slaughter, and War On Drugs.

See Less... ⏫

Button: View Discography

Artist Dashboard:

Nation USA
City Unknown
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Thrash Metal
Reformations 1
Web Unknown
Active Years 1985-1989
E-Mail Unknown
RRCA File Code UC000884
Diskery ID 1328

Button: Go Backward 1 Biography
Button: Go Forward 1 Biography
Button: Buy Their Stuff
Button: Return to Search Page
Button: Help with this page

Notice: Diskery is available for large screens too!
Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

20year Celebration Logo

20year Celebration Logo

Artist Picture not available

Button: Buy Their Stuff
Find Audio/Video
Find Tickets

Get Help
Legal Notices
Special Projects

Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Love Diskery on your big screen? Try us on your mobile device too.