Forgotten Sunrise

Forgotten Sunrise (1992-present): a Doom Metal band from Tallinn, Harju County, Estonia.


orgotten Sunrise started in the summer of 1992. The band had not a name yet and a rehearsal room was just a dream. In the beginning of 1993 the dream became reality and Forgotten Sunrise started playing on a regular basis in a new rehearsal room. In June of 1993 the band recorded their first demo, Behind The Abysmal Sky, and soon after that under the membership of Anders Melts (vocals/harp), Jan Talts (bass), Margus "Kusti" Gustavson (guitars) and Tarvo Valm (drums/keyboards/piano) they signed a record deal with a small label in Finland, 'Rising Realm Records'.

In December 1993 Forgotten Sunrise started to record material for an EP called Forever Sleeping Greystones. Since 'Rising Realms Records' had slowed down the release of this release for over a year, the material, which was not so fresh anymore, finally saw the light in December 1994. The EP also featured Margus Aro assuming keyboards. When it was finally released, the mini-album was received with a warm welcome in several places around the world. The spring of 1995 brought with it a famous local music contest Rock In for young Estonian groups; the event was followed by a long hiatus.

After the long pause there was a rebirth of sorts in August 1996. The line-up and musical style was also changed. There wasn't only death metal anymore, but also influences from Hip-Hop, Breakbeat, Techno, Ebm, synthpop, Shoegaze, Industrial and Jazz. Now featuring the line-up of Anders, Talts, Tiiu (female vocals/violin), Meelis (programming), Keijo (guitars) and Renno (guitars), Forgotten Sunrise (1999) and a.Nimal f.Lesh - Looma Liha (2000) were released independently.

See All... ⏬

In February 2003, Forgotten Sunrise released a new maxi-CD single Ple:se Disco-nnect Me (released in limited quantity) including also a remix by Ghost originally from the Dark-Industrial band G.G.F.H. The line-up had now shifted to Melts and Tiiu returning with Renno (guitar) and Riivo (bass). The band would then get a deal with the Italian label 'My Kingdom Music' for two albums. They immediately accepted this offer and soon the recording session for the first album started.

The long-awaited debut album, Ru:mipu:dus, included 10 tracks + CD-Rom video and the remix by Ghost (of GGFH) who offered back vocals on the production. The album arrived in 2004 featuring Melts and Tiiu with Rennoo Süvaoja (guitar) and Riivo Torstenberg (bass) with guests Dj Critikal (turntable scratches), Kill Kaare (djembes/darbuka/didgeridoo/rainmaker/cymbals), Ghost (of G.G.F.H.; remixing/vocals, Valter, Filipp & Kadri (video only).

The next album, Willand (2007) featured only Melts and Renno Süvaoja with next member Andrey Voinov (fretless bass, guitars (acoustic)) but only on track 6 and none of the other members, likewise for Cretinism (2013). 2014 saw Melts alone with only Kadri Sammel (keyboards/vocals/bass/programming/visuals).

See Less... ⏫

Button: View Discography

Artist Dashboard:

Nation Estonia
City Tallinn, Harju County
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Doom Metal
Reformations 1
Web Unknown
Active Years 1992-
E-Mail Unknown
Last Modified 2020-11-29
RRCA File Code UC000723
Diskery ID 1169

Button: Go Backward 1 Biography
Button: Go Forward 1 Biography
Button: Random Artist
Button: Return to Search Page
Button: Print Page
Button: Help with this page

Notice: Diskery is available for large screens too!
Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Diskery Uncle Sam Logo

Diskery Uncle Sam Logo

Artist Picture not available


Purchase via eBayPurchase via eBay
 Find Audio/Video

 Get Help
 Legal Notices
 Special Projects

Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Love Diskery on your big screen? Try us on your mobile device too.