Earthtone9 (1998-2002, 2010-present): a Heavy Metal band from Nottingham, UK.


he band Earthtone9 was a five-some of vegetarians who also avoided the dreaded drink; that second fact would later fall off the wagon.

Featuring the membership of Karl Middleton (vocals), Owen Packard (guitar), Joe Roberts (guitar), Dave Anderson (bass) and Simon Hutchby (drums), they would release their promising Lo-Def(inition) Discord album in 1998 on a £500 budget, which comprised songs from their three demos with a few new tracks added. Their harshest and noisiest recording, it quickly grabbed the attention of the British rock press, with favorable reviews.

After extensive touring... Off Kilter Enhancement (1999) followed. But it wasn't long before their clean cut ways were challenged with the press proclaiming their drug and drink habits, and Middleton's appearance at the Lost Weekend festival dressed in cling-film pants indicated to the press that the accusations were probably right when the news hit the pages, but Earthtone9 preferred to let their music speak for them with the release of the Hi-Point (2000) mini album. The album was again a critical success, but commercial recognition remained limited. But this time the band had more time and money to play with, the result was their classic sound emerged featuring harsh metal inspired by Helmet and Neurosis, mixed with soft textured moments and with arrangements like Tool. The harder riffing was in place again for the follow-up, Arc'tan'gent (2000).

See All... ⏬

Apart from some minor distribution of their existing material, all attempts at an American record deal that would see them ride along the wave of nu-metal that was sweeping that nation, fell through.

Hutchby left in 2001, due to a skiing accident, to be replaced by Richie Mills temporarily, then by Alex Baker. After the release of the Omega EP in 2002, the band called it quits shortly after.

The Hi-point EP would be reprinted in 2004.

2010 would see the band reform under the membership of Karl Middleton (vocals), Owen Packard (guitar), Joe Roberts (guitar), Simon Hutchby (drums) and Dave Anderson (bass; who would be replaced by Russ StEDMan in 2012).

For Cause & Consequence EP would follow in 2011 as well as their only live album, Live From London Garage (2012).

Gez Walton would join as an additional guitarist in 2012 to release IV in 2013.

See Less... ⏫

Button: View Discography

Artist Image not available
Movie director's cut board

Follow Diskery:

Click to Purchase via eBay
Click to Purchase via eBay

Dashboard for Earthtone9

Nation UK
Location Nottingham
Genre Heavy Metal
Formations 2
Active Years 1998-2002, 2010-
Last Modified 2023-02-20
Diskery ID 1023

Button: Go Backward 1 Biography
Button: Go Forward 1 Biography
Button: Random Artist
Button: Return to Search Page
Button: Go to website version for printers and reader devices
Button: Help with this page

Large screen TV
Love Diskery on your mobile? You'll love us on your big screen device too!

Click to Purchase via eBay

Follow Diskery:

Earth Search/Home
Music record Discography
Movie Director's cut board Audio/Video

Question mark Help
Exclamation mark Legal
Construction barrier Projects

Go to website version simple view (Good for reader devices) Accessibility/Printer

Collection of mobile electronics
Love Diskery on your big screen? Try us on your mobile device too!