USA National Flag Image

(Diskery - Artist Biography Accessible and Printable Version)
[Return to Standard View]
Crowbar (1991-present): a Metalcore band from New Orleans, Luisiana, USA.
Crowbar was started by Kirk Windstein (vocals/guitar), Kevin Noonan (guitar), Todd Strange (bass) and Craig Nunenmacher (drums) who merged a mix between punk rock and Black Sabbath like heavy metal to sign with 'Grindcore International' to launch their debut Obedience Thru Suffering (1992). By the second set, Crowbar (1993) on the 'Bulletproof' label, Matt Thomas replaced Noonan. The album's highlight was their cover of Led Zeppelin's No Quarter. But the act decided to play a heavier sound on the follow-up albums of Time Heals Nothing (1995) and Broken Glass (1996), featuring Sammy Pierre Duet added on guitars and Jimmy Bower (drums), and the "best of..." Past And Present (1997). Odd Fellows Rest (1998) saw them leave for the 'Spitfire' label and loose Thomas, but another drummer, Sid Montz, was in place for their Equilibrium album in 2000 proving to be another "same old, same old" album with a cover tune (this time of Gary Wright's Dream Weaver) as it's highlight. But after the Sludge "best of..." compilation in 2000, the next album Sonic Excess In Its Purest Form (2001) saw the rhythm section replaced with Tony Costanza on drums and Jeff Okoneski on bass.

Dashboard for Crowbar

Nation USA
City New Orleans, Luisiana
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Metalcore
Formations 1
Web Unknown
Active Years 1991-
E-Mail Unknown
Last Modified 2022-09-17
Diskery ID 953

© Diskery Project Consortium