Penance Artist Logo



USA National Flag Image

(Diskery - Artist Biography Accessible and Printable Version)
[Return to Standard View]
Penance (1989-2005, 2007, 2011- ): a Doom Metal band from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA.
Pennsylvania's Penance seems to improve its reputation as one of Amerioca's premier doom style band. Their origins trace back to an act called Dream Death, a band who mixed doom with hardcore, specifically in the vocals, but members of that band decided to change their direction and the result was the modern Penance. With the line-up of Brian Lawrence (guitars/vocals), Terry Weston (guitars), Richard Freund (bass) and Mike Smail (drums) they would release The Road Less Traveled in 1992. Parallel Corners (1994) saw Lee Smith assume the vocals from Lawrence and Frank Miller took over bass from Freund. Proving Ground (1999) saw Brian Balich and Ron Leard taking over vocals and bass respectively. The follow-up Alpha And Omega saw Mary Bielich take over on bass while Matt Tuite was added for a new guitar position.

Spiritualnatural (2003) saw Dave Roman on bass all for a year, The Road Revisited (2005) would follow.

Richard Freund would return on bass in 2013.

Dashboard for Penance

Nation USA
City Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Doom Metal
Formations 3
Web Unknown
Active Years 1989-2005, 2007, 2011-
E-Mail Unknown
Last Modified 2022-11-25
Diskery ID 790

Artists Linked With Penance

Dream Death

© Diskery Project Consortium