Coffin Break Artist Logo Image

Coffin Break

Artist National Flag Image

(Diskery - Artist Biography: Simple/Printable Version)

Coffin Break (1987-1994): a Punk band from Seattle, Washington, USA.
Seattle hardcore metal-heads Coffin Break made their mark on America in the late 1980s and early 1990s. They shied away from the grunge trend of the Northwest, instead drawing their inspiration from punk rock. 'C/Z Records' proved to be their biggest supporters, issuing three of their albums and reissuing their first two albums as a single disc. The band issued their first two albums, Psychosis and Rupture in 1989 and a previous live EP Noise Patch b/w Boxes 'N Boxes/Obsession all featuring David Brooks (drums), Peter Litwin (guitar/vocals) and Rob Skinner (bass/vocals). The albums did well enough to earn them a contract with 'Epitaph' to release their follow-ups of, Crawl (1991) and Thirteen (1992); the final album featuring Jeff Lorien on guitar. Simultaneously, 'C/Z Records' released a singles and outtakes collection titled, No Sleep 'til the Stardust Motel (1991). The band suddenly announced it's break up in 1994.

Immediately after Coffin Break split, Peter Litwin went on to form Softy with members of Gruntruck and Hammerbox. Softy put out a 7" on Seattle's 'Y Records' and released a full length CD on 'Negative Feedback Records'. Softy called it quits in 1998. After a long musical hiatus, Litwin would return in the band Plaster in 2004 featuring members of RC5 and Flamethrower.

Rob Skinner went to form Popsickle with members of the Gits and Alcohol Funnycar. Popsickle released two records on Seattle's 'C/Z Records'. Skinner also played live and recorded with Jack Endino's Earthworm.

David Brooks went on to play drums in The RC5, The Bratz, and Big Grizzly.

Coffin Break Artist Picture
Coffin Break

Artist Dashboard:

Nation USA
City Seattle, Washington
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Punk
Reformations 1
Web Unknown
Active Years 1987-1994
E-Mail Unknown
Last Modified Unknown
RRCA File Code REV00542
Diskery ID 451

© Diskery Project Consortium