Abaddon Artist Logo



Germany National Flag Image

(Diskery - Artist Biography Accessible and Printable Version)
[Return to Standard View]
Abaddon (1995-present): a Death Metal band from Voerde, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany.
Founded in 1995, Abaddon had already rearranged their line up by the time the first demo, The Infernal Revelation, came out in 1998.

After the initial demo the band swelled to eight members in the form of brothers Markus Esch (vocals) and Daniel Esch (guitars), along with Sebastian Bossmann (guitars), Lars Tschentschel (drums), Steffen Schmitz (bass), Simone Dyllong (keyboards), Diana Link (vocals (soprano)) and Gabriel Knobel (vocals (tenor)). They recorded their first album De Occulta Philosophia three years later (July 2001) in the Prolog-Studios in Dortmund, Germany and was finally released on Feb. 28th, 2003.

Only a couple of months after the recording session, Bossmann was involved in a car accident and had to be replaced. Fortunately, Abaddon could gain the assistance of David Diederichs (ex-Execrate). After they started working in this new formation, Abaddon got the opportunity to play numerous concerts next to Adorned Brood, Crack Up, Dew Scented, Die Happy, In Blackest Velvet, Nebular Moon, Night in Gales, Ninnghizidda, Powergod, Skyclad and Soul Demise throughout Germany and neighboring countries. The summit of this tour was the participation at the promotion award of JUZ in Andernach, where Abaddon was among the TOP 10 of 150 competitors and received the 2nd price in the Internet voting. This gig was broadcasted on local television and could be watched on the Internet. Another highlight in Abaddon`s history was the participation on the culture project Zoooooo!!! which was founded by the German Ministry of Culture. Abaddon and three other bands of different music styles presented a show somewhere between theatre, musical and madness.

By the release of The Wayfarer (2014) and The Seeker's Vow EP (2019) the total change of membership had occurred to feature Christopher Lankes (drums), Torsten Stoltenow (guitars), Marek Widera (guitars), Darius Widera (vocals/keyboards) and Steffen Schmitz (bass).


Dashboard for Abaddon

Nation Germany
City Voerde, North Rhine-Westphalia
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Death Metal
Formations 1
Web Unknown
Active Years 1995-
E-Mail Unknown
Last Modified Unknown
Diskery ID 1241

Artists Linked With Abaddon

Execrate Night In Gales Powergod

© Diskery Project Consortium