The Dawn Artist Logo

The Dawn


Sweden National Flag Image

(Diskery - Artist Biography Accessible and Printable Version)
[Return to Standard View]
The Dawn (1986-1987, 1990-present): a Black Metal band from Stockholm, Sweden.
It was all started by former Obduracy guitarist Frederick Soderberg, who in turn recruited Henke Forss (vocals), Andrias Fullstead (guitar), Dennis (bass) and Karsten Larsson (drums) to complete the line-up. The Dawn would split in 1988 to reform as Obduracy before starting up again in 1990.

After their 1992 self-titled EP demo, Lars Tangmark replaced Dennis for their second demo effort, the Apparation EP demo, along with a the 1994 split single with Pyphomgertum that appeared on the Mexican imprint label 'Bellphegot' before finally getting a deal with the American 'Necropolis' label and the debut album Naer Selen Gar Niper Fur Evogher in 1995. Extolling the values of their melodic black metal, they once again came back on the attack with the EP Sorgh på svarte vingar fløgh (1996) before replacing Larsson with Jocke Petterson to release the highly acclaimed Slaughtersun (Crown Of The Triarchy) before the act splintered apart, leaving Soderberg and Forss remaining to recruit Tomas Asklund for drums.

The Dawn

Dashboard for The Dawn

Nation Sweden
City Stockholm
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Black Metal
Formations 2
Web Unknown
Active Years 1986-1987, 1990-
E-Mail Unknown
Last Modified 2022-11-25
Diskery ID 1019

© Diskery Project Consortium