Get Help on using the Artist Description section


System Of A Down


ormed by ex-patriot Armenians Serj Tankian (vocals; a Jello Biafra look-alike except with an afro hairdo), Daron Malakian (guitar), Shavo Odadjian (bass) and John Dolmayan (drums), their 1998 Rick Rubin produced album System Of A Down showed them to be a politically motivated Punk-Metal & Hardcore act (a style often referred to as “Nu-Metal”) in the style of Faith No More and Coal Chamber. The subsequent tour with Slayer left many Slayer fans to exclaim “Who?”, but the effort nonetheless gave them needed exposure. They would continuewith 2001's Toxi surpassing expectations, and follo wed it up with Steal This Album! (2002), Mezmerize (2005) and Hypnotize (2005).

Get Help on using the Artist Dashboard section

Nation USA
City Los Angeles, California
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Nu-Metal
Formations/Versions 1
Web Unknown
Active Years 1998-
E-Mail Unknown
Old RRCA File Code UC000261
New Reference Code 714

Get Help on using the See Also section

See also these artists mentioned in this article:

Faith No More Coal Chamber Slayer