Get Help on using this section.




ollowing on with his work in Stormtroopers Of Death (S.O.D.), Billy Milano (vocals) formed his own M.O.D. (Method Of Destruction) with Tim McMurtrie (guitar), John Monte (bass) and Tim Mallare (drums). The groove oriented Hardcore on their debut U.S.A. For M.O.D. (1987) went virtually unnoticed due to the controversy over the lyrics being deemed as fascist and racist. In a famous open letter to the press, Milano defended his position by stating that most of the lyrics were actually written by Anthrax's Scott Ian and were originally used as part of the S.O.D. set. Further to this he explained that to convey the emotions of the subjects discussed in the music he had to write them from the bigot's point of view. Although the controversy eventually went away, the album was tarred. The second album, Surfin' M.O.D. (1988) with Louis J. Svitek replacing McMurtrie, allowed Milano's sense of humor to show and demonstrated that they were moving in a more Metal/Hardcore direction.

The Next effort, Gross Misconduct (1989), tackled more serious subjects once more. The tour proved equally unhealthy for their career with Ballone breaking his arm. Unfortunately Milano would have to leave the band shortly after due to personal matters. He not only left the band but also left the music industry. Svitek and Monte, for their parts, would go on to form Mindfuck (then re-named to Mindfunk by order of the record company). Needless to say there was serious morale problems in the band and they split soon after the tour.

Mindfunk featured the membership of Louis J. Suitek and John Monte recruiting Pat Dunbar (vocals), Jason Coppola (guitar), Reed St. Mark (ex-Celtic Frost; drums) to release their self-titled debut in 1991 on the wave of the Thrash/Funk movement on the ‘Epic' label before Jason Everman (ex-Nirvana) replaced both Coppola and St. Mark to release Dropped (1993) and People Who Fell From The Sky (1995) featuring Frank Ciampi on bass. The band never really got it off the ground and split thereafter.

Milano appeared to not the type to quit so quickly, however, and After the S.O.D. reunion M.O.D. was revived in 1992. He got together a new group of musicians including himself now taking on bass (like he used to back in his days with Psychos) with Tim McMurtie (guitar/vocals) and Dave Chavarri (drums). The resulting Rhythm Of Fear (1992) sounded so solid it was like they had never broke up. The line-up, however, proved not to be as solid, with several changes occurring resulting in Devolution (1994), featuring Milano and Chavarri returning with Bob Moscheti on bass and Tommy Klimchuck on lead guitar. After the release of their Loved By Thousands, Hated By Millions (1995) “best of…” album they moved on, now sounding more like Biohazard and Sick Of It All, for the release of Dictated Aggression (1996), an issue of little concern for the revised three-man line-up of just Milano, Chavarri and Joe Young (guitar) as they were still recognized as playing solid Hardcore Metal, a style continued on The Rebel You Love To Hate (2003) with Billy Milano (vocals) with his new buddies Joe Affe (guitar) and Danny Burkhardt (drums).

Get Help on using this section.

Nation USA
City Unknown
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Metalcore
Formations/Versions 2
Web Unknown
Active Years 1987-1990, 1995-
E-Mail Unknown
Old RRCA File Code REV00242
New Reference Code 353

Get Help on using this section.

See also these artists mentioned in this article:

SOD Nirvana Anthrax
Celtic Frost Sick Of It All MOD
Mindfunk Biohazard