Get Help on using the Artist Description section


Master (USA)


aster was the main band for Paul Speckmann (bass/vocals), a known personality in the American Death Metal underground. Since forming Master in the early 1980s, Speckmann kept himself busy with a variety of projects and bands, including Deathstrike, Abomination and Krabathor. Adding Chris Mittelbrun (guitar) and Bill Schmidt (drums), Master's music would be old-school style American Death Metal, not much different from other such bands. Nonetheless their 1990 debut Master and On The 7th Day God Created ... Master (1991) follow-up now featuring Aaron Nickeas (drums) and Paul Masvidal (guitar) replacing the incumbents met approval with the Death Metal fans. Collection Of Souls (1993) saw the string section replaced with guitarists Jeff Kobie and Brian Brady stepping in to assist the returning Nickeas and Speckmann. Sage Gonzalez (guitar) and Sage Johnson (drums) joined for Faith Is In Season (1998) before the line-up was reformed (and shrunk) with Speckmann hiring Ronald Reagan (guitar; NO not the dead president) and Harry Truman (drums; also a stage name and NOT a dead president) for the latest to date, Let's Start A War (2002).

Get Help on using the Artist Dashboard section

Nation USA
City Chicago, Illinois
Promotional Address Unknown
Genre Death Metal
Formations/Versions 1
Web Unknown
Active Years 1983-
E-Mail Unknown
Old RRCA File Code UC000635
New Reference Code 1081